Not a Lot I Can Say. . .

It’s all very well having a fancy blog and intending to post a lot about what I do and all that, but it turns out that the main thing I do, Children’s Book Writing and Illustrating, isn’t something that lends itself to sharing.

I can’t really show you what I am working on right now, as that would break confidentiality with the publisher. So no ‘in progress’ pictures. . .

I can’t really share ideas I’m working up with a view to publishing, as somebody might nick my idea. . . So no ‘I had this great idea for a picture book!’ posts. . .

sillycovers

I can show you stuff I have just had published, but that isn’t going to keep a blog going for long πŸ˜‰

reading

It’s a bit frustrating. But I guess I can write something more general about picture books and my approach to them etc, but I have to avoid at all costs being like all those earnest websites with endless tips for would be authors who want to ‘realise their dream’ and publish a children’s book. . .

Call me cynical, but tip one would be ‘Lay off the inspirational websites and start doing the necessary hard work!’

Tough love Dude. . .

I’ll address the issue of what feels right to post about and what doesn’t, and hopefully come up with something worth reading, but in the meantime I drew some more cats. . .

cat5 cat6cat7

6 thoughts on “Not a Lot I Can Say. . .

  1. Hmm I see your dilemma! I’d love to hear more about your approach along with an insight into how you got published/the publishing process in general (with a bit of tough love thrown in for good measure)…

  2. I’m just happy with the pictures of fat cats. Simple soul!

Leave a Reply

