Pattern and Surface Design Stuff, and stuff. . .

I have been doggedly and slightly obsessively (if you can actually be slightly obsessive) producing and refining pattern ideas for fabric and related surface design on and off over the last several months, repurposing images and patterns I create in the texture creation engines of certain bits of 3D software, (pursuing my possibly delusional conviction that what I am producing is quite interesting and would look great on fabric. . .) and have been learning quite a lot in the process. I have been trying out my designs the fabric print on demand website Spoonflower (click the image, it is linked to the site). Not a lot of response yet, but I haven’t been promoting anything I have put on there. I do need to start doing that really, but getting seen, let alone noticed amongst the mass of designs on there is pretty hard . . .

419923-a13-3-8-5-14-3-1B

This design is simple sine based shape overlaid with a textural linear pattern

1558038_rbublatt2

This is a simple repeat pattern in three colours based on a simple recursive sine fractal shape.

liquidvvvff112312d2-6-30a

This design struck me as being like a digital version of a traditional damask. The symmetry helps. There is an echo of traditional design to it, without there being any trace of a traditional motif there at all.

I have to say I find these echoes of human design occurring in a purely digital medium, (strongly directed by me), really fascinating. Many pattern designs and motifs are stylised from nature. Nature is (arguably) underpinned by fractal mathematics. So when fractal mathematics throws up forms evocative of those in nature, and of natural forms stylised by being processed by the human brain, (arguably, another fractal process) it’s perhaps not too surprising. There’s something of the basic maths of how the brain is constructed and how it constructs the world in there somewhere. Or it might just be in my head that this echo happens, I don’t know. I see fractal mathematic related forms and distributions of things everywhere. Mainly coz it is everywhere, and because I’m looking for it. . .

Leave a Reply

