Bologna by the skin of my teeth. . .

Phew. I spent a pretty frantic couple of days last week getting a project ready for my main publisher, for presentation at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair, which is either imminent, already happening or just happened, depending when you read this (it happens sometime around the end of March) . OK, big deal, you say, all illustrators do that. Yeah, but this was for an idea that was only semi worked out and wasn’t even on the radar for publication as far as either myself or my publisher was concerned the week before.

Feeling somewhat dejected that my small stack of picture book ideas had been turned down, and pondering the rough drawings I had done for one of these rejects, thinking that there was something there worth pursuing if only I could bring it to the fore. . . I sat down with my trusty notebook and slowly but surely wrestled it into the shape of something much more solid and joined up. So much so, that I emailed it back to my publisher as I know he liked the drawings and the basic concept. He liked it, and after a short pause, sent me an email saying

‘Decide on a title and I need a cover by tomorrow – OK? Don’t you love this business?’

(the catalogue for the book fair was being printed next day!) Talk about getting in under the wire!

So, the rough dummy  of my possible next book will be doing the rounds at Bologna. Let’s hope it gets a good response.

News flash. It made the cover of the brochure. Nice. . .

it might just be about a cat. . . .

catbrochcov

World Rights Boxer Books. www.boxerbooks.com

Leave a Reply

